My best moments as School Chef of the Year 2017

Hello again, it’s me Tracy Healy – with my final blog post as School Chef of the Year. I just wanted to grab five minutes of your time to tell you about the fantastic year I’ve had in this role.

Reigning as School Chef of the Year 2017 has been one of my proudest achievements. The support I’ve received throughout has been amazing. As well as cooking for all the hungry children at Ravensthorpe Junior School in Dewsbury, I’ve also been travelling up and down the country (and other countries) with lots of different trips and events – spreading the great work catering staff do.

Amazing memories

I couldn’t possibly pick a favourite memory from my year, however, a highlight that I’ll never forget is visiting Germany to work firstly with MKN, a company that makes commercial cooking equipment. With a guided tour of the factory, and getting hands on in their development kitchen with their chefs. And my second day in Germany was spent at Wilhelm Bracke School where half of the 1,400 pupils have school dinners.

I had a great day cooking with the team, ran by a husband and wife who are committed to using local produce and introducing vegetarian and vegan dishes to their menus. I learnt so much from this trip and met some amazing professionals.

My moments all in one

My friends over at Kirklees Council have helped put this short video together to showcase my year – from meeting celebs, to snapshots in airports:

Handing over to Michael 

I was honoured to be part of the judging panel for the School Chef of the Year 2018 competition,  where some really talented candidates battled for the prestigious title.

So I’d like to say a  huge congratulations to this year’s winner Michael Goulston from Peartree Spring Primary School (Hertfordshire) who will pick up where I left off – I hope his year is as amazing as mine has been.

A big thank you

It has been an absolute privilege to represent my school, and the Kirklees Council Catering service with such an award as School Chef of the Year 2017 – I’d like to give a big thank you to everyone who supported me before my reign as top school chef, and during. It has been a year I’ll never forget.

Thanks for reading, Tracy

If you’d like to see Tracy’s full year, you can view her Twitter feed online.

Leave a comment